Lack of illness

A touch of catchup:

I feel that I am finally beginning to rid myself of this recent illness. I, as many do, get sick nearly every year around this time but this year was quite bad, really. It was definitely more than a common cold. I am nearly certain that it was Fluish but there was no sore throat at all. Major congestion and a lot of body pain. Anyway…

I completed my first full week of work in the new office. I don’t seem to mind it at all. The commute has (now pay attention) gone from 7 miles to 57 miles while changing from a ~30 minute drive to a ~65 minute drive. I hope the novelty doesn’t wear off but I actually like the longer, more rural drive.  Regardless, I’m glad it’s Friday.

I had a dinner tonight where I was, as expected, chosen to speak a bit. I was doing fine through the beginning and got to the point where I would introduce those with me, my wife and daughter. I introduced my wife with no hiccup, as planned. After a few words I introduced my daughter who is nearly 5. While I was talking about her and introducing her I looked down at her sitting by me and she was looking at me so intensely in such a way that it just stopped my words dead. We gazed at one another for a moment and the realization was nearly instant that I was done – I would not be able to continue… and I couldn’t. I couldn’t say another word. My face felt hot, my chin was quivering and my eyes were watering. I don’t know what it was but I just began to cry and couldn’t fight it for all I was worth. I simply ended with ‘she is what drives me to be a better man.’ and sat down promptly.  She tests me to no end at times but she is like nothing else in my life.

Have a great weekend.

By ianmaffett

Leave a Reply

