TwitterPhish

I don’t mean to sound like an Ass to anyone who disagrees with me – and you’re welcome to do so as this is just my opinion. However…

If you enter your password at a site- it’s your responsibility. Twitter, eBay, PayPal, etc…. any site with a password. If you feel otherwise, then you are not prepared for today’s Internet. Phishing has been a popular tactic for many years now and is as common as Spam. In fact, a large percentage of spam is phishing itself.

Now, before you all begin yelling the same mantra – I know that all of the 3rd party sites are questionable due to the Twitter API being wide open. Those, too, are your responsibly as they’re optional and totally independent from Twitter. People are so quick today to become complacent and point fingers at other people because there is no possible way it can be ‘MY’ fault… I don’t run the site. Twitter is a simple, social and most notably FREE site. Don’t get me wrong, I love it – but it is not logical or possible to hold them responsible for someone else’s actions.

Unless Twitter themselves steal your account or your Twidentidy it is neither their responsibility nor their fault. Now, It would be nice if you could contact them and say – ‘Hey, someone stole my account and I want it back’ and can prove (via email, etc) like so many other sites – then that would be cool. I don’t even know if this is an option as I have never needed it.

I can see this leading them to begin charging in order to grow their back end so as to allow for proper tracking and maintenance procedures. Sadly, as much as I love Twitter, I won’t pay for it.

By ianmaffett